Extra Magic Hours and other exciting things

Sorry I haven’t updated this in a while, it has been a busy few days!!!

On Monday, I had my first experience of Extra Magic Hours. These are special hours that are either before or after the park closes, where guest at the Walt Disney World Resort Hotels can stay and play in the parks for longer 😀 Therefore, as I was working the close, instead of finishing at the planned time of 11pm …. I actually finished at 2:30am as the park didn’t close until 1am!!!! So Monday not only became my first experience of Extra Magic Hours, but it also became my first 12 hour shift at Disney! However, after saying all this …. it was actually pretty enjoyable 😀

I was working in Fairfax Fare, which sells things like Ribs, Chicken, Pork Sandwiches, Turkey Legs, Mac ‘n’ Cheese and Hot Dogs. So in the evening I learnt to make them thanks to the help of our trainer for the day, Daniel. During the day, I was on register (they don’t say till here … everytime I did then asked me to say it again cos they thought it was really cool to say till!!! Also … apparently they don’t say waterproofs here either …. I ended up in costuming for 10 minutes just because everyone decided to crowd around me just to hear me call them waterproofs!!!!) Anyway, I was on register so learnt how to work the touch screen and process the orders, this was very similar to the till system at McDonalds so I picked it up pretty quickly. I also learnt how to pour beer!!! At Fairfax, and a few other restaurants in Disney they sell some beers and lagers like Bud Light and Yuengling, and although I am too young to drink it, I am old enough to serve it. So I was taught the proper way to pour a beer, which was really quite exciting!!! 😀 Most of the day went pretty smoothly, with it getting quite busy at some hours of the day, but we all seemed to handle it pretty well.

Tuesday was my first full day off, so I went to Hollywood Studios with Jade …. where I rained for most of the day! We got to go on quite a few of the big ride though, we managed to go on The Great Movie Ride, Tower of Terror, Rock ‘n’ Roller Coaster, and my favourite ….. TOY STORY MANIA!!!!!!!!! In which I managed to get the high score of the hour!!!!! 😀 However, the highlight of the day, was definitely Fantasmic! 😀 Although it had literally rained all day, the rain decided to stop, just in time for us to watch Fantasmic – a journey through Mickey’s imagination where evil takes over!!!! This was …. amazing as always!!!!! 😀

Wednesday was another long day, but again, very fun 😀 It began quite early with me and Jade getting the 8:45am bus to the Magic Kingdom. Once there we managed to get through a few of the really big rides, such as Space Mountain, Big Thunder Mountain, Splash Mountain and The Haunted Mansion which were all really fun 😀 After having a nice walk around the park Jade unfortunately had to go to work at Disney’s Port Orleans Hotel, however, we did have one last chance on the way out where we met Ariel and Eric from the Little Mermaid. This then set my course for the rest of the day …. to meet lots and lots of Disney Characters!!!!! 😀 So after Jade had gone I set out on my mission! I began meeting Mickey and Minnie, followed by 3 of the Disney Princesses (Aurora, Belle and Cinderella), then I surprisingly bumped into Peter Pan just after I had eaten a huge strawberry funnel cake (I think I may still have had strawberry around my mouth :/ No worry Peter Pan was giving me funny looks!!!!) Anyway, after bumping into Peter the sun began to shine and I found Daisy Duck and Pluto on Main Street, followed closely by Snow White. During my wander up Main Street the Main Street Philharmonic began to blast out some classic Disney tunes with such talent and enthusiasm that before long the whole of Main Street was dancing along with them!!! 😀 I then found Goofy outside Splash Mountain before heading back to Main Street to watch the parade …. which got cancelled! This wasn’t much of a surprise due to the dramatic change in weather from the lovely sunny weather to a huge thunderstorm right above our heads!!! The whole park did go crazy at this point as people legged it in every direction to get away from both the rain that was pelting down at them and the thunder that sounded like it could hit the castle at any minute!!! So I chose this moment to hop onto the monorail back to the Ticket Transportation Centre where I quickly got onto a bus going to the Animal Kingdom. Hopefully by the time I arrived at the Animal Kingdom the rain would have hopefully stopped, or at least calmed down at little…..

Once again …. I was wrong! It was just as wet and stormy at Animal Kingdom! So as soon as I got into the park I headed for somewhere nice and dry …. and ended up at Finding Nemo The Musical!!!! 😀 This was great fun 😀 It basically is the story of Finding Nemo condensed into 30 minutes with lots of songs added in!!! 😀 Plus all of the characters are like big hand puppets with the puppeteer singing (almost like Avenue Q but with slightly bigger puppets and slightly more decent for little kids to watch). On the way out of this I saw Pooh, Tigger and Eeyore so, being such a big kid, I went to meet them too! (Eeyore is just so cuddly!!!! HE’S SO FLUFFY!!!!!!!!!!!! :D) Then after wandering around the park for a while, I realised that there wasn’t really much that I could do with the weather being as bad as it was …. so I decided to leave. However, as always with Disney … even when you think the magic is over you normally have some more magic sprinkled on you (like pixie dust!) and in my case ….. I bumped into Donald Duck! And as I had spent the whole day walking around wearing a Donald Duck hat, this seemed like a perfect end to what had been a great day in the parks!!! 😀

However, the day did not end there. I ended up going out for a meal with fellow ICPers Heather, Ashleigh and Jenny. We went over to Downtown Disney where we had a fairly enjoyable meal at The Rainforest Cafe where you are surrounded by plants and animals of the rainforest whilst you eat your meals, with the addition of a thunderstorm every half an hour. All of this was not real of course (except the fish!) … we had already experienced enough really thunder for the day!

Today just added to the list of exciting days … but this time it was back at work. I began todays shift in the Starring Rolls Cafe, which is a nice little bakery at the end of Sunset Boulevard. This was thoroughly enjoyable! And also ….. the desserts there look AMAZING!!!!! 😀 We learnt how to work the registers, do the counter for the desserts and sandwiches, and even learn a bit of how to stock the shop. After having a nice break eating a humongous turkey sandwich, and an even bigger chocolate peanut butter cafe, we closed up the cafe (which closes at 4pm) and then headed over to the boat, more commonly known as Min and Bill’s Dockside Diner. This now has to be possibly my favorite place to work. There is a great view, looking out over the big Sorcerer’s hat (which is apparently really good when there is a parade on because you get to watch the parade whilst working), and you get lots of musical entertainment too! Whilst I was working register I got to listen (and dance) along to the High School Musical show (I know … I’m sad!), and the listen to the American Idol Experience Final. Whilst we were cleaning for the close we also got to listen to a band performing some classic rock/pop songs (you know … the ones that everyone knows and you can’t help but dance and sing along to them :)) I began on register and I think I am finally getting the hang of it. I was left on my own today and didn’t have any problems at all! 🙂 I also was complimented on my amazing beer pouring!!! Also, the menu here is very unusual …. which is kinda cool 🙂 Instead of your usual burgers and fries you can buy a Frankfurt Sausage in a Pretzel or a Chicken Caesar Salad Sandwich, or an Italian Sausage with onions and peppers actually inside a baguette! This made it all the more fun when I moved into kitchen where I worked alongside a guy called Jordan from North Carolina who studies ……. MUSIC!!!! YAY!!!! 😀 First music student I have met since being here!!! 😀 So after a very geeky conversation about what is your favourite opera I learnt how to make the food and then how to close the boat. All in all, another very good day in Florida 😀

About wdwmusic

I am from Lytham St Annes and I currently a 2nd year student studying music at Bangor University, which is fantastic!!! :D:D:D:D:D I am also about to have the time of my life over summer 2011 working in Walt Disney World in Florida!!!! :D:D:D:D:D
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Extra Magic Hours and other exciting things

  1. Mike Wilson says:

    I’m glad you’re learning how to pour beer! 🙂

Leave a Reply

