The Magical Wizarding World of Harry Potter and an awesome vacation!

Firstly, I apologise for the length of this blog, and other that have been and for some that may still be to come. I have discovered in doing this blog, that 1 – there is just not enough time in the day to write one everyday, 2 – there is no way that you can write about everything you have been doing in a week in Florida in just a couple of paragraphs, and 3 -there is just so much happening here, that even though these blogs are so long, there is still so much that I’m missing out! So for that I apologise, and at the same time, thank you for continuing to read these blogs, and I hope they are still of some entertainment to you, despite their length ๐Ÿ˜€

So a month has passed and yet it seems like I haven’t done hardly anything …. but at the same time, I know I have done loads!

Last Thursday was incredibly relaxing ๐Ÿ˜€ After arriving at house that my family were staying at (which was absolutely humungous!!!!) I had a nice relaxing morning before we all heading to EPCOT to travel the world in the afternoon. We finally ended up in the UK where our evening meal was a healthy portion of good old British fish and chips ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ That evening we watch Illuminations from the UK which had changed and been improved even more!!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

Friday was an absolutely amazing day! ๐Ÿ˜€ We woke up very early to make our way to Universal Studios and Islands of Adventure where we went to ……….
THE WIZARDING WORLD OF HARRY POTTER!!!!!!!!! ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€
This place was A-MA-ZING! ๐Ÿ˜€ As soon as you stepped through the gates of Hogesmeade you felt like you were really in the books and the films with Harry Potter and his friends ๐Ÿ˜€ We made our way straight to the main ride called Harry Potter and the Forbidden Journey. We had to queue for this ride for about 25 minutes ….. but I actually wish I could have queued for longer!!! There was so much detail all around the place as you waited in line. There were amazing moving portraits which looked exactly like a really oil painting ….. and then it started to move! There were newspaper clippings with moving pictures, a portrait of Dawn French as the fat lady who started to talk to us, you walk through Dumbledore’s office where Dumbledore talks to you, you walk through a classroom where Ron, Hermione and Harry talk to you and then disappear under the invisibility cloak, and then the most exciting of them all ….. the sorting hat! Just before you are about to get onto the ride you see the Sorting Hat and it is so incredibly life like, it’s amazing! ๐Ÿ˜€ It starts to talk to you and move and it honestly just looks like an old battered hat that is talking to you … it’s brilliant! ๐Ÿ˜€ So after all that excitment …. we finally made it to the ride …. which was FANTASTIC!!!! ๐Ÿ˜€ It switches between a film on a screen and then moving animatronic figures for the whole ride, however the way they switched between the two makes you feel like all of it is real, and really there rather than some of it just being a film. I do also have to admit that I did scream very loudly when a dementor came at me (they were just so scary! :/ )ย After going on the ride, we spent the next few hours strolling around the streets of Hogesmeade, drinking Butterbeer, and enjoying the shops such as Honeydukes Sweet shop and Zonkos Joke Shop ๐Ÿ˜€ We also had a very enjoyable lunch spent drinking Butterbeer in The Three Broomsticks ๐Ÿ˜€ Oh, and the Butterbeer tastes absolutely incredibly ๐Ÿ˜€ It tastes like nothing that I have ever tasted before but it is so incredibly tasty that you can see why Ron, Hermione and Harry like to drink it at every opportunity that they get ๐Ÿ˜€

The rest of the day was spent inย Jurassicย Park where we met a Triceratops called Chris, and where we missed out on the Jurassic Park ride due to a huge thunderstorm …… so we went to Universal Studios where we instead enjoyed the comforts of the hilarious Horror Make Up show and The Simpsons Ride, before heading home to escape the rain!

Saturday, and it was back to work, but not before spending most of the day in Animal Kingdom with the family ๐Ÿ˜€ Work was nice and relaxing, not too long a shift and I spent most of the day bussing and having nice chats with the guests ๐Ÿ˜€ The last few hours of my shift lead to a couple of firsts. Firstly I got my first hug off a guest – we aren’t actually allowed to hug a guest unless they hug us first – and in this case, I had two young girls giving me a hug, followed by their older brother and sister and before I knew it, their mum and grandma had given me a hug too!!!! So I got my first hug(s) of the program, and this was closely followed by my first sighting of a cockroach! :/ I nearly swept it up with my broom … and next thing I knew it was running around me feet very, very, very quickly ….. within a couple of seconds, I had screamed very loudly and I ended up at the opposite end of the dining area! It was ok, the park had closed and the only guests still in the park were all in Fantasmic … but it was still a very scary moment. And then if that wasn’t enoughย surprisesย for the day, I bumped into 3 cats who were just wandering around the dining area whilst I was cleaning! I never realised that there were cats in Disney! They were extremely cute and fluffy though ๐Ÿ˜€

Monday was my last day with the family before they headed off back home to the UK, and luckily I wasn’t working until 6pm so had the whole day to enjoy the delights of the Magic Kingdom ๐Ÿ˜€ We watched the parade twice, me and my sister relived our last day of our holiday from 2 years ago by screaming a lot on Big Thunder Mountain, we laughed a lot on the Monsters Inc. Laugh Floor (especially at “Sleeping Beauty”), and we ate our amazingly cool Mickey Mouse Ice Creams before I left them to enjoy their last day, and headed over to Hollywood Studios to go back to work.

The shift itself was pretty average, however, it was the crazy times that followed that amused me. I didn’t finish until 2:15 in the morning and then had to wait until 3 before getting the bus home, arrived at Vista at just gone 3:30 to then have to wake up at 8 to be back on the bus by 9:50, where I arrived back in the park by 10 (….. only 7 hours after I had left)ย to start my 11 and a half hour shift!!!! This was then followed by 7 whole hours on my feet before I finally got my break!!! Crazy times …. but actually, extremely fun! ๐Ÿ˜€ This gave me just enough time on my break to ring the family, who were at the airport, one final time before they returned to British soil. It is a bit weird … now that the family have gone it feels like my holiday is over! Or should I say vacation …. I had one family who when I wished them a nice rest of their holiday they told me that it was no where near to Christmas yet! Anyway, I’m sure I will find some more time to enjoy my vacation time in Florida, and if not …. the holiday with the family was excellentย ๐Ÿ˜€

Wednesday was an average day at work in Florida, you know …. Sun, Disney, Mickey Mouse ….. an average day ๐Ÿ˜› The weather was also behaving …. since the storm on Friday it hadn’t rained, and it wouldn’t rain again until the Friday a week later. I like to think that it was because I asked for some good weather, and no rain (definitely nothing to do with the tropical storm just off the coast of Florida that was causing a heat wave for the whole of the US ๐Ÿ˜› )

Thursday was a relaxing day off, where I ended up heading into Hollywood Studios and catching up on some of the things I had missed, such as the Lights, Motors, Action Stunt Show which now features Lighting McQueen ๐Ÿ˜€ Then I met up with Ashleigh, whoย coincidentallyย turns 20 the same day that I do, whilst we are both in Florida, we both started on the same day, we both are doing Quick Service Food and Beverage, and we are both working in Hollywood Studios! Weird! Anyway, we went on Toy Story, Tower of Terror and Rock ‘n’ Rollercoaster and I tried my first ever Turkey Leg (which I have decided that I’m not too fond on!) before ending the day with another fabulous performance of Fantasmic ๐Ÿ˜€ (If you haven’t already guessed …. I do love that show a tiny bit ๐Ÿ˜€ )

Friday found me back in Animal Kingdom watching all the shows and riding all the rides ๐Ÿ˜€ I finally managed to do both Dinosaur and Everest, and watch the Festival of the Lion King after being here for almost 5 weeks!!! I also met a few characters too ๐Ÿ˜€ That always leads to a good day ๐Ÿ˜€

So yesterday it was back to work, and as always, it was great fun ๐Ÿ˜€ You know how it is …. working at Disney and all ๐Ÿ˜€

About wdwmusic

I am from Lytham St Annes and I currently a 2nd year student studying music at Bangor University, which is fantastic!!! :D:D:D:D:D I am also about to have the time of my life over summer 2011 working in Walt Disney World in Florida!!!! :D:D:D:D:D
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Magical Wizarding World of Harry Potter and an awesome vacation!

  1. emma james says:

    glad you had a nice time with your family, and im sure you will be able to catch up with your sleep when your back at uni ๐Ÿ™‚ xx

Leave a Reply

